Good evening and welcome to The British Deer Society

North East Scotland

North East Scotland

Branch information and events

Committee

Chairman Brian Goodall
Vice Chairman / Assistant Range Officer Jim McQueenie
Secretary Alison Espie
Committee Member/
Range Officer
Brian Thompson
Treasurer Toby Rider
Committee Member Major (Retd) Grenville Irvine-Fortsecue
Committee Member William Cruickshank
Committee Member Simon Blackett TD
Committee Member Robert Ruxton
Committee Member Michael Eamer

2018 Events

29 Apr Branch Clay Pigeon Shoot – Finzean
18-19 May    BDS Seminar and AGM - Edinburgh
29-30 Jun & 1 Jul Scone Game Fair
3-4 Aug Highland Field Sports Fair - Moy 
5-6 Aug Turriff Show
19 Aug Branch Butchery Demonstration & B-B-Q – Finzean Village Hall
26 Aug TBC Scottish Inter Branch Shoot, Glen Tilt 
28 Oct NE Scotland Branch Field Day – Mar Lodge Estate

2019 Events

17 Feb NE Scotland Branch AGM and Auction  - Finzean Village Hall , 3pm

Branch contacts

Chairman Brian Goodall b.goodall@bdsbranches.org.uk    
Vice Chairman Jim McQueenie j.mcqueenie@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Secretary  Alison Espie a.espie@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Range Officer Brian Thompson b.thompson@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Treasurer Toby Rider t.rider@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Branch BDS Journal entries co-ordinator Simon Blackett s.blackett@bdsbranches.org.uk  
Branch webpage co-ordinator Grenville Irvine-Fortescue g.irvine-fortescue@bdsbranches.org.uk  

News

Committee Members

The Branch welcomes Mr Michael Eamer as a new Committee Member for the Branch.


Range Days

The Branch will again be running a number of Range Days over the coming months, both to give the Branch members an opportunity for some target practice, but also to identify and select the best shots to take part in this year’s Scottish Inter Branch Shoot. The Range Day dates are as follows: 

Sun 27th May 2018
Sun 10th Jun 2018
Sun 22nd July 2018 - Team selection and final practice.

Branch members wishing to take part in the Range Days are advised to contact the Chairman or Range Officer prior to the Range Day to confirm timings and any other arrangements.


Branch Bursary

The Branch Committee again proposed at this year’s AGM that the Branch offer another one-off bursary to a young person living within the Branch area of £500 to help towards Gamekeeping College costs and training. If any Branch member knows of a young person whom they would wish to recommend for consideration for the bursary, they should pass the details to the Branch Chairman. Any applicant will be required to set out why they wish to choose a career as a gamekeeper/stalker and detailing any work experience they are under-taking, which college and course they are applying for and how they would use the bursary. The applicant would be required to make a short presentation at next year’s AGM. 

 

Submissions to the Branch Webpage and the BDS Journal

Committee member, Mr Simon Backett now co-ordinates Branch submissions for the BDS Journal. Branch members are requested to submit any articles and photographs of stalking or other sporting events that Branch members may find of interest and which can be used as possible submissions for the Deer Journal.