Good evening and welcome to The British Deer Society

South East Scotland

South East Scotland

Branch information and events

Branch meetings in 2019 will take place on the first Tuesday in the month starting in March at the Melville Inn, Dalkeith.


30 Jan Branch AGM, 7pm Melville Inn, EH18 1AR 


6 March

Diseases In Deer

Melville Inn, A7, Dalkeith

24/25 March

Kelso Stalkers Fair


3 April


Melville Inn, A7, Dalkeith

12 May

Blair Athol Range Practice 

Blair Atholl

5 June

Branch Clay Shoot

Lammerlaw Gun Club Macmerry

30 June

Wilf Cross Trophy Shoot


7  August

Branch BBQ


26 August

Scottish Interbranch Shoot

Blair Atholl

4 September



TBC September

Borders Interbranch Shoot


2 October

Talk on African Hunting

 Melville Inn

6 November

Social Evening

Cosmo - Edinburgh Town

*Members who are interested in attending/participating in the branch shoots should contact Tony Manktelow ( for further details on practice/selection.

Branch contacts

Chairman Nick Morall 
Secretary David Overton
Branch shoots Tony Manktelow

2018 News so far

Borders Interbranch Shoot, 7th October

The Borders Inter Branch Shoot took place on 7th October at the Parton range, Castle Douglas with participants from, South West Scotland, South East Scotland, North West England and North West England Branches. Congratulations go to South West Scotland branch who won the competition, and many thanks to them for also providing some great food and refreshments. Thanks to the RCO’s/butt team who put in a lot of effort keeping the targets stapled to the boards in the blustery weather conditions and rain!

African Hunting & Conservation, 2nd October

Thanks to Ian Evans for doing nearly a six hour round trip to come and talk to the branch on the 2nd October about his hunting and conservation experiences in Africa over many years and, it was a fascinating evening with a great slideshow and film clips.

Scottish Interbranch Shoot, 26th August

The Scottish Inter Branch Shoot took place on 26th August at the Glen Tilt range, Blair Atholl with participants coming from Highland, North East Scotland, Central, South West Scotland and South East Scotland Branches managed to put up with a full day of rain! Congratulations goes to Highland branch who won the competition and many thanks to the RCO’s and the butt team who were all instrumental in making the day a success.

Luckily our team manged to get a bit of shelter thanks to Tony Manktelow.

Branch BBQ, 7th August

The branch BBQ took place on the 7th August at Vogrie Country Park. Thank you to all those that made the effort to attend.

Wilf Cross Trophy Shoot, 1st July

The trophy shoot took place on the 1st July at the Lothian & Borders Rifle Club range on the Tollishill Estate, Carfraemill. Congratulations to John Campbell-Smith who won first place, Calum Abernethy who was second and Neal Robertson who was third.

Branch Clay Shoot, Lammerlaw Gun Club, 5th June

The branch clay shoot took place on the 5th June at the Lammerlaw Gun Club, Macmerry. Congratulations go to Jim Burnett who won first place, Noreen Laurenson and John MacKenzie who were joint second. Everyone had a very enjoyable evening. Many thanks to the Lammerlaw Gun Club who hosted the event and David Laidlaw for organising the venue.

Blair Atholl Range Practice

On the 12th May we couldn’t have asked for better weather, clear blue skies, light breeze and a good turnout at the range. Members of Lothian & Borders Rifle Club and the branch had chance for some informal shooting practice at distances from 100 yards to 400 yards. Many thanks to Paul Crosibie, John Campbell-Smith, Iain Semple who did the preparatory work on the range before the shoot, Tony Manktelow for organising the paperwork, RCO and butt team. This is an event we hope to see repeated next year.

Reloading for Beginners

On the 3rd April Ed Bewsher from Edinburgh Rifles & Sporting Goods gave a presentation on reloading for beginners which covered budget reloading equipment and supplies, internal ballistics and how to guide for reloading accuracy. Ed will be back to do a talk on more advance reloading!

Kelso Stalkers Fair

The branch attended and manned a stand at this years Deer Stalking Fair at Kelso on the 24th/25th March. It was a great weekend and good opportunity to mingle and catch up with stalkers from all parts of the UK and welcome some new members to the BDS.

Diseases in Deer

On the 6th March Alan Tweedie from Borders College gave an informative talk on diseases in deer and showed some interesting photos for members to see and discuss examples of diseased deer.

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

The Branch AGM was held on Tuesday 30th January 2018 at The Melville Inn, Dalkeith. Details of the elected Committee for 2018 are:

Chairman Nick Morall
Treasurer John Home
Secretary David Overton
Shoot Captain Tony Manktelow

If you would like to receive a copy of the minutes please email

Email addresses for Branch Members

Are you receiving information from the Branch via email? If not then the Society does not have your current email address. If you wish to receive regular updates via email please advise the BDS Membership Secretary of your current email address.

The Membership Secretary contact details are: