close icon
Balfour-Browne Trophy
The Balfour-Browne Trophy is given annually to an individual judged to have made an outstanding contribution to wild deer conservation in memory of Vincent Balfour-Browne. Photo by: Diana Parkhouse


Vincent Balfour-Browne, was a founding member of the British Deer Society. He was a keen deer stalker and one of the finest Scottish sporting and wildlife artists. He is known to excel in producing highly evocative works that give a strong sense of weather and the natural environment. Balfour-Browne also worked as an illustrator, contributing to many sporting books. 

The highly prestigious Balfour-Browne trophy is awarded annually in alternate years by the BDS and Forest Land and Estates (formerly Forestry Commission, Scotland). The magnificent stag sculpture was originally donated in memory of Vincent Balfour-Browne (Scottish artist 1881 – 1963) by his sister, to be awarded for demonstrating excellence in or making a valuable contribution to the better management of the UK’s deer.

Balfour-Browne Trophy Recipients

  • 2021 – BDS – Dave Goffin
    10 years of service with the Red Deer Commission and its successor body the Deer Commission for Scotland (DCS), was followed by 14 years as the BDS UK Training Manager. Dave currently works with Deer Management Qualifications (DMQ) Ltd ensuring that deer industry standards remain high and continue to be met.
  • 2020 – SF – Bruce Sewell
  • 2019 – BDS – Stan Kemish
    Wessex Branch President making a major contribution at local and national level since Society inauguration to better deer management and mentoring.
  • 2018 – FC  – Leo Barclay
  • 2017 – BDS – Dr Arnold Cooke
    Researcher making major contributions through work with Chinese water deer and muntjac, additionally wildlife and conservation work regarding impact assessments and woodland reserve management.
  • 2016 – FCS – Dr Bob MacIntosh
    Retired Chief Executive of Forest Enterprise, Head of Forestry Commission Scotland and Scottish Government Environment and Forestry Director.
  • 2015 – BDS  – Professor Rory Putman
    Ex BDS Scientific Advisor who has made a massive contribution of scientific research to the deer world.
  • 2014 – FCS  – James (Donnie) Cameron
  • 2013 – BDS  – Professor Tim Clutton-Brock
    Immense contribution to research and its application to the management of wild deer.
  • 2012 – FCS – Derek Wedderburn
    Ex FCS WR, deer culling contractor Aberdeenshire. Assists with training and deer conflict mediation.
  • 2011 – BDS – John Willett F.Z.S, F.R.G.S.
    Founder member and Fellow of BDS, Chairman, Collector of live deer, collector of deer antlers from throughout the world.
  • 2010 – FCS – Deer Commission for Scotland.
    Awarded to DCS on the transfer of their duties to Scottish Natural Heritage, for past services to deer.
  • 2009 – BDS – Alex Jagger
    Chairman, BDS Training Committee. BDS Senior Assessor.
  • 2008 – FCS – Richard Cooke
    Estate Factor, Brechin Estates, Angus. Founding Secretary Association of Deer Management Groups.
  • 2007 – BDS  – Hugh Rose
    Well known BDS figure, Scottish Secretary BDS, BDS Advisory Officer.
  • 2006 – FC – Martin Noble
    Senior FC Ranger, Mortimer Forest, Shropshire.
  • 2005 – BDS – Andrew Yool
    Chairman, Scottish Council, BDS. Landowner in Moray. Deer Commentator.
  • 2004 – FC – Stephen Gibbs MBE
    Owner of Dougarie Estate, Arran. Chairman Association of Deer Management Groups. Branch Chairman, West of Scotland.
  • 2003 – BDS – Dick W Youngston
    Technical Officer, Deer Commission for Scotland.
  • 2002 – FC – Not awarded
  • 2001 – BDS – Ronnie R Rose MBE
    Wildlife Manager, Tilhill Forestry, Eskdalemuir. Author. Originator of enlightened wildlife management, in particular roe deer in woodland. Introduced planning and design for deer control.
Balfour Browne Trophy

Your choice regarding cookies on this site. We use cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience.