close icon
Jim Taylor-Page Trophy
The Jim Taylor-Page Trophy is awarded annually to a BDS branch member nominated by their peers for their outstanding contribution to the branch and wider Society. Photo by: WildMedia


Jim Taylor- Page, was a founding member of the British Deer Society. A biology teacher who wanted a better deal for deer, which at the time the Society was formed were often regarded by farmers and foresters as vermin and had no protection in English law.

Jim Taylor-Page Trophy Recipients

  • 2023 – Iain Semple – Central Scotland Branch
    For working behind the scenes as a stalwart committee member and secretary of both the Central Scotland branch and the Scottish Area Council, coordinating meetings, minutes and local events.
  • 2022 – Sally Barrell – Midlands, Wales & The Marches
    For continuing work and unstinting loyalty as secretary and committee member of the Midlands, Wales and The Marches Branch.
  • 2021 – Bob Jarratt – North West Branch
    Formerly Chairman and President of the NW Branch and active committee member from 1987 to 2005.  Appreciated for his sterling work with the Young Stalkers events and served for many years as the Chairman of the South West Lakes DMG.
  • 2020 – Bob Holmes – Yorkshire Branch
    Dedicated and continuing support of the BDS at a local and national level, for many years, held the role of Yorkshire Branch Chairman until retirement.
  • 2019 – Ian Davidson – Highlands Branch
    Considerable commitment, engagement and generosity in support of Highland Branch and of the British Deer Society over the years.
  • 2018 – Mike & Joan Bagnowiec – West Branch
    Joint award to Mike for his years as a committee member, Branch training officer and BDS course manager – and to his wife Joan for her unstinting BDS support over a considerable number of years, many as branch secretary.
  • 2017 – Carmen Hocking – South West England Branch
    Treasurer and secretary for her fundraising and tireless contribution.
  • 2016 – Mike Cottam – Highlands Branch
    Retiring secretary, long and distinguished service to deer, their welfare and management.
  • 2015 – Norman Ball – North East England
    Past branch chairman and secretary, long-standing committee member and unstinting volunteer.
  • 2014 – Tom Brown – Northern Ireland Branch
    President, responsible for setting up NI branch and continuing dedication as a Society officer assuming various roles of Branch chairman, secretary and training officer.
  • 2013 – Ron Smith – Central Scotland Branch
    Chair, and long term committee member and member, Vice Chair Scottish Council.
  • 2012 – Gerald Alden – Yorkshire Branch
    Long term committee member, outstanding work with education.
  • 2011 – William Perrie – Central Scotland Branch
    Long term committee member and trainer.
  • 2010 – Elizabeth Halstead – Midlands Branch
    Artist and long term member and sponsor of BDS.
  • 2009 – Jon Jayes – Highlands Branch
    Past secretary of BDS Photographic Committee & Highlands Branch Committee member.
  • 2008 – Joan Brookes – Midlands Branch
    Vice Chair, Midlands Branch treasurer, committee member and member for 40 + years.
  • 2007 – Maitland Rankin – SW Scotland Branch
    Branch President, past branch chair & committee member, Board member and Vice-Chair Scottish Council.
  • 2006 – Roz Crawford – Chilterns Branch
    Branch secretary and great supporter for many years.
  • 2005 – Hugh Guillebaud – Wessex and West Branch
    Past Board Member, past Vice-Chair EWAC & Branch Chair, Handbook 2005 coordinator/ part author.
  • 2004 – joint award – Jimmy Oswald – NE Scotland Branch
    Branch Secretary and Committee member for numerous years.
    Derek Petrie – NE Scotland Branch
    Branch treasurer & Committee member for numerous years.
  • 2003 – Pat Leonard – West of Scotland Branch
    Branch Chair for many years, early training delivery Scotland.
  • 2002 – Peter Curtis – Chilterns Branch
    Branch committee member and public education for many years.
  • 2001 – Cliff & Di Bailey-Moore – Midlands Branch
    Branch Chair and Secretary, long term show/education organisers, Branch Vice Presidents.
Jim Taylor-Page Trophy

Your choice regarding cookies on this site. We use cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience.